2019 ODP Co-Funded Research Projects

The ODP provided limited co-funding to NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices, and other agencies in 2019 for extramural prevention grants, NIH-sponsored meetings and workshops, and federal initiatives and projects.

NIH-Funded Grants

Organization Project Title Grant Number Principal Investigator and Institution
FIC Health and Psychosocial Need: The Asenze Study of Risk and Protection in Adolescence 1R01TW011228-01A1  Leslie Davidson, Columbia University
NCCIH NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory – A Pragmatic Trial of Parent-Focused Prevention in Pediatric Primary Care: Implementation and Adolescent Health Outcomes in Three Health Systems-Includes Spanish Supplement UH3AT009838-02 Richard Catalano, University of Washington
NCCIH NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory – Training Supplement 3U24AT009676-02S3 Adrian Hernandez, Duke University
NCI StandUpTV: Reducing Sedentary Screen Use in Middle-aged Adults R01CA239612-01 Matthew Buman, Arizona State University
NCI Physical Activity, Sedentary Behavior, and Cancer Incidence in Women 1R01CA227122-01A1 Kelly Evenson, University of North Carolina at Chapel HIll
NCI Improving Breast Cancer Risk Prediction for African American Women: Consideration of Estrogen Receptor Sub-type Specific Risk Factors 1R01CA228357-01A1 Julie Palmer, Boston University
NIAID

Emerging Pre-XDR/XDR-TB Crisis in the Democratic Republic of Congo: Leveraging In-country IeDEA Infrastructure to Characterize the Burden of Drug-resistant Tuberculosis and its Associated Risk Factors

U01AI096299-11 Marcel Yotebieng, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
NIBIB Center for Point-of-care Technologies Research for Sexually Transmitted Diseases 5U54EB007958-12 Charlotte Ann Gaydos, Johns Hopkins University
NICHD Assessing the Benefits Versus Harms of Universal Autism Screening in a Community-based Sample 3P50HD093074-01S1 Geraldine Dawson and Scott Kollins, Duke University
NICHD A Randomized, Controlled Trial of a Telephone-Based Developmental Care Coordination System 1R01HD092406-01A1 Paul Chung, University of California, Los Angeles
NIDA Center for Prevention Implementation Methodology for Drug Abuse and HIV (Ce-PIM) P30DA027828-08 C. Hendricks Brown, Northwestern University
NIDA Pragmatic Trial of User-centered Clinical Decision Support to Implement Emergency Department-Initiated Buprenorphine for Opioid Use Disorder (EMBED) 3UH3DA047003 Edward Melnick and Gail D'Onofrio, Yale University
NIMH Integrating Signals of Suicide Risk from DoD and VHA Data to Improve Upon Suicide Risk Prevention Strategies for Combat Veterans 1R01MH120122-01 Lisa Brenner, University of Colorado Denver
NINR Using Facebook and Participatory Learning in an Intergenerational Intervention to Prevent Obesity in Head Start Preschoolers 1R21NR017958-01A1 Jiying Ling, Michigan State University
NINR War of Attrition: Predicting Dropout from Pediatric Weight Management 1R01NR017639-01A1 Joseph Arnold Skelton, Wake Forest University

NIH-Sponsored Meetings, Workshops, and Conferences

Organization Project Title Contact Email
FIC Workshop and Writers Retreat on Childhood Obesity Prevention Across Borders: The Promise of U.S.-Latin American Research Collaboration Susan Vorkoper susan.vorkoper@nih.gov
NCCIH 2020 Research Day on Teaching Kitchens and Self Care Practices Della White whitede@mail.nih.gov
NCI Conference on Active Transportation and Health                     Kristen Mangold and David Berrigan kristen.mangold@nih.gov
berrigad@mail.nih.gov
NCI 12th Annual Conference on the Science of Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health Gila Neta gila.neta@nih.gov
NHGRI  National Academies' Roundtable on Genomics and Precision Health Vence Bonham bonhamv@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI Workshop: Developing a Multidisciplinary Collaborative Translational Research Agenda for Returning the Results of Genome Sequencing in Biobanks and Learning Health Systems Mollie Minear mollie.minear@nih.gov
NHLBI Advancing Nutrition Education, Training, and Research for Medical Students, Residents, Fellows, Attending Physicians, and Other Clinicians: Building Competencies and Interdisciplinary Coordination (A Workshop Report) Charlotte Pratt prattc@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI The U.S. Ten Day Seminar on the Epidemiology and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Susan Shero sheros@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI Society of Behavioral Medicine, 2017 Annual Meeting  Kate Stoney stoneyc@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI NIH Summer Institute on the Design and Conduct of Randomized Behavioral Clinical Trials  Kate Stoney stoneyc@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI NIH Workshop on HIV-Associated Comorbidities Shimian Zou shimian.zou@nih.gov
NIAAA Society for Prevention Research, 2017-2021 Annual Conference Mariela Shirley shirleym@mail.nih.gov
NIAAA Meeting on Advancing Adherence to Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) for HIV/AIDS Prevention Among Alcohol-Using Populations Mariela Shirley and Robert Freeman

shirleym@mail.nih.gov
rfreeman@mail.nih.gov

NIAID Workshop: Looking to the Future: Behavioral Aspects of Long-acting and Extended Delivery HIV Prevention and Treatment Regimens Philip Renzullo and Elizabeth Walsh

prenzullo@mail.nih.gov
elizabeth.walsh@nih.gov

NICHD Workshop: Methods for Evaluating the Impact of Screening on Child Health Outcomes Tracy King and Rosalind King

tracy.king@nih.gov 
kingros@mail.nih.gov

NICHD Conference: Towards a Research Agenda to Reduce Maternal Mortality in the United States Esther Eisenberg and Juanita Chinn

esther.eisenberg@nih.gov 
juanita.chinn@nih.gov

NINDS Alzheimer’s Disease-Related Dementias Summit 2019 Roderick Corriveau roderick.corriveau@nih.gov 

Federal Initiatives and Projects

Organization Project Title Contact Email
CDC Community Guide Systematic Economic Review: Interventions Engaging Community Health Workers to Increase Breast, Cervical, and Colorectal Cancer Screening Sajal Chattopadhyay skc9@cdc.gov
CDC Community Guide Systematic Economic Review: Permanent Supportive Housing with Housing First  Sajal Chattopadhyay skc9@cdc.gov
CDC Community Guide Systematic Effectiveness Review: Permanent Supportive Housing/Housing First Robert Hahn rah1@cdc.gov
CDC Community Guide Systematic Effectiveness Review: Parks and Trails for Physical Activity David Hopkins dhh4@cdc.gov
CDC Community Guide Systematic Effectiveness Review: Interventions that Utilize Technology with a Goal of Influencing Weight-related Behaviors Holly Wethington eyk5@cdc.gov
CDC National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) B-24 Month Project  Kellie O. Casavale Kellie.OConnell@fda.hhs.gov 
CDC Opportunities to Advance the Understanding of Infant Feeding from Birth to 24 Months through Research: The Infant Feeding Practices Study III Heather Hamner hfc2@cdc.gov
HHS Healthy People 2030 Launch Carter Blakey carter.blakey@hhs.gov
NCI Scientific and Technical Services for the Automated Self-Administered 24-hour (ASA24) Dietary Assessment System Amy Subar subara@mail.nih.gov
NIAMS Data Collection to Support Tracking of Healthy People 2020 and 2030 Osteoporosis Objectives Gayle Lester lester1@mail.nih.gov
NIDA Advancing Genomics in Smoking Cessation Clinical Trials: Developing Consensus Recommendations Through the PhenX Toolkit Jonathan Pollock jpollock@mail.nih.gov
NIEHS Workplace Opioids Prevention Training Pilot Joseph Hughes hughes3@niehs.nih.gov
NIMHD Race/Ethnic/SES Disparities in the U.S. Burden of Disease Anna María Nápoles anna.napoles@nih.gov
OBSSR National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR)  Deborah Young-Hyman deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov
ODPHP Healthy People 2030: Foundation Health Measures Khristen Flennoy and Emmeline Ochiai Khristen.Flennoy@hhs.gov 
Emmeline.Ochiai@hhs.gov