2016 ODP Co-Funded Research Projects

The ODP provided limited co-funding to NIH Institutes, Centers, and Offices, and other agencies in 2016 for extramural prevention grants, NIH-sponsored meetings and workshops, and federal initiatives and projects.

NIH-Funded Grants

Organization Project Title Grant Number Principal Investigator and Institution
NCI Advancing Dissemination and Implementation Research on Walking and Walkability: Developing Research Priorities 1R13CA203386-01 Katherine Kraft, America Walks, Inc.
NIDDK Lifestyle Interventions in Overweight and Obese Pregnant Women Consortium 4U01DK094466-06 Rebecca Clifton, George Washington University
NIDDK Lifestyle Interventions in Overweight and Obese Pregnant Women 3U01DK094463-05S1 Rebecca Clifton, George Washington University
NHLBI Society of Behavioral Medicine 2016 Annual Meeting & Scientific Sessions 1R13HL132444-01 Marian Fitzgibbon, Society of Behavioral Medicine
NHLBI DASH-Sodium Trial in Adolescents 1R01HL128834-01A1 Connie Weaver, Purdue University
NHLBI Pregnancy as a Window to Future Cardiovascular Health: Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes, DCAC Application for Supplemental Funds for Cotinine Testing 3U10HL119991-03S2 Corette Parker, Research Triangle Institute
NIDA Society for Prevention Research Annual Meetings, 2012–2016 4R13DA033149-05 Deborah Gorman-Smith, Society for Prevention Research, Inc.
NIAMS Conference on Integrative Biology of Exercise 1R13AR070619-01 Martin Frank, American Physiological Society
NICHD An RCT of Preconception Weight Loss vs. OCP in Overweight Infertile PCOS Women 3U10HD038992-14S1 Richard Legro, Pennsylvania State University, Hershey Medical Center
NIDA Summer Institute on Innovative Methods 2R13DA020334-11 Stephanie Lanza, Pennsylvania State University
NICHD The CFAR Social & Behavioral Science Research Network National Scientific Meeting 5R13HD074468-04 Michael Blank, University of Pennsylvania
NCI 1/3: The Chicago Collaborative to Promote and Advance Cancer Health Equity 1U54CA203000-01 Melissa Simon, Northwestern University at Chicago
NIAAA Intervention to Enhance PrEP Uptake and Adherence in a Community-Based Setting 4R01AA022067-05 Sarit Golub, Hunter College
NIDA A Trial of Connecting to Prevent Drug Abuse and Risky Behaviors in Foster Teens 3R01DA038095-02S1 Kevin Haggerty, University of Washington
NHLBI Ten-Day Seminar on the Epidemiology and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease 1R13HL134247-01 David Goff, University of Colorado, Denver

NIH-Sponsored Meetings, Workshops, and Conferences

Organization Project Title Contact Email
NCI Accelerating the Pathway from Ideas to Efficacy: Developing More Effective Interventions for Lifestyle Behaviors Related to Chronic Diseases Josephine Boyington boyingtonje@mail.nih.gov
NCI Workshop on Conceptualizing and Measuring Tobacco Risk/Harm Perception Annette Kaufman kaufmana@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI Measuring Core Variables in Adult Weight Loss Trials: Toward Optimizing Long-Term Obesity Treatment Cay Loria loriac@nhlbi.nih.gov
NHLBI Mediterranean Diet Clinical Trials Work Group Holly Nicastro holly.nicastro@nih.gov
NCI Extending Methods in Dietary Patterns and Cancer Control Jill Reedy reedyj@mail.nih.gov
NICHD Rehabilitation Research at NIH: Moving the Field Forward Alison Cernich alison.cernich@nih.gov
NICHD NICHD/Health Systems Partnerships: New Approaches to Advancing Maternal, Child, and Rehabilitation Research (PDF) Tracy King tracy.king@nih.gov
ODPHP The Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2030 Meeting Support Emmeline Ochiai emmeline.ochiai@hhs.gov
NHLBI NHLBI Forum on Heart, Lung, and Sleep Disorders in American Indian/Alaskan Native/Native Hawaiian (AI/AN/NH) Youth Mona Puggal puggalma@mail.nih.gov
NHLBI Summer Institute on RCT Kate Stoney stoneyc@mail.nih.gov
NCI Boosting Immunity Against Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) Through Magnesium Supplementation: A Novel Approach for Secondary Prevention of Chronic EBV Infection and EBV-Associated Malignancy Michael Lenardo lenardo@nih.gov
NCI 9th Annual Conference on the Science of Dissemination and Implementation Gila Neta gila.neta@nih.gov

Federal Initiatives and Projects

Organization Project Title Contact Email
HHS/OASH/ODPHP Dissemination and Implementation of Prevention Science Through Healthy People 2020 Leading Health Indicators Webinar and Progress Reviews Tiffani Mulder tiffani.mulder@hhs.gov
HHS/OASH/ODPHP Identifying the Scientific Literature Supporting the Social Determinants of Health Emmeline Ochiai emmeline.ochiai@hhs.gov
HHS/OASH/ODPHP Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2018 Katrina Piercy katrina.piercy@hhs.gov
ODPHP Leading Health Indicators Disparities Widget Yen Lin yen.luong@psc.hhs.gov
NINDS Data Collection to Support Tracking of Healthy People 2020 Heart Disease and Stroke (HDS) Objectives Katie Pahigiannis katie.pahigiannis@nih.gov
OBSSR NCCOR Coordinating Center Contract Deborah Young-Hyman deborah.young-hyman@nih.gov
APRHB Healthy People 2020 Respiratory Diseases (RD) Work Group Hatice Zahran hbz4@cdc.gov
NHLBI Effects of Dietary Sodium and Potassium Intake on Health: AHRQ Evidence Review Janet de Jesus jk325f@nih.gov
CDC Evaluating the Use of Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) Insufficient Evidence Findings Within NIH Anita Ellis aqa5@cdc.gov
NICHD Effects of Interrupting Sedentary Behavior on Metabolic and Cognitive Outcomes in Children Jack Yanovski jy15i@nih.gov